Compacting hard core.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rooster1

I was right about that saddle
Is the question how much above ground level (for the aggregate) ?
or how much above your soil which you've dug out (for the aggregate) ?

BoldonLad

Not part of the Elite
I am no civil engineer, but, I would have thought the answer is, as much aggregate as you need, for intended load bearing, and, adjust paving height by varying depth of sand, under paving. Since sand depth easier to control than compacted aggregate depth? Have I passed my NVQ1 in paving? ;)

Last edited:

Levo-Lon

Guru
The slabs will need a 25-50 mm bed be it wet or dry mix.
So if you have 25 30 mm plus slab you will be fine.
Some hardcore rams better than others with a plate.
I,e M,O,T is the best and 50mm to dust limestone is not so good.

Mot is also frost proof , limestone isn't

D

Deleted member 26715

[QUOTE 5216520, member: 9609"]neither. I can't really think how to ask what I'm wanting to know.[/QUOTE]I know what you want to know, but don't know the answer as it will depend on the compactness of the hardcore, the weight of the wacker & possibly the vibrations per minute, but I'd start at 25mm & hope for the best, you're best to be lower & come up with sharp sand & gobbo.

Rooster1

I was right about that saddle
I didn't get much of a drop when I compacted the hardcore for the patio I layed. However the maths I did for depth of digging, amount of hardcore and thickness of slabs all worked out well. Unfortunately it looks crap because my levels were slightly out. The wife likes it though.

Dave 123

Legendary Member
If it’s only foot traffic then not too much.

If it’s HGV’s then you might want to put lots down and ram it like crazy!

nickyboy

Norven Mankey
I used to work for a company that makes compaction plates (Wacker was our main competitor)