Complete newbie

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

djmummy

hello all

how are you?

Just thought i'd pop my head round the virtual door and say hi.

Well im a complete newbie, haven't been on a bike for years, but due to my car giving up for the final time. and the fact we have moved home to almost the center of town, we've decided to become bikers. Me, fiance an the kids. Gunna be rough for the 1st few weeks, but im hoping on top of saving money we get fitter for it, i need to lose another 2 st to get to my target weight. my only concern is getting up the killer of hill to get to my university I'm a student (so any tips on doing hills would be great), plus all my camera kit i need to carry at the same time.. hmm gunna be intresting.

so hello. feel free to sat hello back.

Lucy

Gerry Attrick

Lincolnshire Mountain Rescue Consultant
Hi Lucy and welcome to the forum.

You've made a great decision and yes, it will be hard for a while, but with perseveance you will succeed.

Hills, well they are never going to be easy, but they will get easier. It seems you have the ideal training route will that killer hill. Give it a few weeks and you will rename it the speed bump! Just try to get into the habit of using a lower gear and spinning your legs rather than straining in a high gear. It may feel as though you are pedalling too fast initially, but you will become accustomed to it.

Keep us updated as to how you progress and ask as many questions as you need. There will always be someone to advise.

OP
OP
D

djmummy

thanks for the welcome..

ive woken p this morning with a pit of dread in my stomach as my son isnt confident on his bike. bit of a baptism of fire me thinks lol.

Paulus

Started young, and still going.