Complete noob looking for a hybrid(?) bike for daily commute, around 5 miles each way

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

TaylorCycle541

Hi all,

I am a stranger to the world of bicycles, and I have come seeking your help and advice. This post may be long winded so bear with me.

I am a recent university graduate who during their final year rented a bicycle from them, which I believe was a Palomar GT. This bicycle was used every other day over roads, pavements, cobblestone, gravel, some grass, and a few hills and performed well. The only issues which stand out in my mind is that mudguards in wet weather are important, and the tyres seemed a little thin for dismounting pavements compared to say a mountain bikes tyres and I never felt fully confident in doing so, however this may be an imaginary non-issue.

Since graduating I have returned the bicycle and have arrived here seeking advice. I have no clue what to look for, what is good and what to avoid. My basic understanding is that hybrids are a good choice for general purpose cycling and that alloy brakes are more responsive than steel, however I am unsure how much this translates into a real-world scenario.

I am seeking a bicycle to cover the same terrain listed above at a reasonable price point. Other than internet companies there are two major retailers near me, Halfords, and Evans Cycles. I have identified an Apollo Belmont and Carrera Crossfire as possible candidates based on what I understand from the spec sheet, average review and price. However, most of the information, including the brands are unknown to me and I am unsure if the differences between them warrant the price.

I am hoping you guys could have a look and provide an argument for either, recommend something else or steer me in the right direction on what I should be looking out for with a first purchase. I'm happy to provide any further information if needed.

I appreciate any replies.

-TaylorCycle541