Complete noob looking for a hybrid(?) bike for daily commute, around 5 miles each way

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Could you explain a bit about the suspension
Sure. This type of fork was developed gor mountain biking. By their nature, they are heavy lumps of kit. And at these lower price points, they are poor forks, hard to service. And they add weight, did I mention weight? If your bike can take wide tyres, say 38mm and up, then at the right pressure, they'll be great suspension on their own.

MTB suspension forks are expensive, lightweight, finely tunes race kit. Hybrid suspension forks are fairly crude and heavy. They generally lack attachment eyelets for bolt on mudguards.
I ride a 2" fat slick tyre on rigid forks and float over rough cobbles.

Electric_Andy

Heavy Metal Fan
Could you explain a bit about the suspension? I believe the suspension fork "bounces" with the surface as opposed to staying firm on the other bicycle, the university bike hard a "hard/firm" suspension and I had no issues with it, I'm not sure why this would be so crucial?
Suspension (front or back) is designed to give you a smoother ride over bumps and jumps. but if you're mainly cycling on the road or on fairly smooth ground, it is unecessary. Having suspension reduces the efficiency of your cycling because energy is absorbed through the forks and not transferred to the road. Also as others have said, suspension on cheaper bikes is usually poor quality and mostly for looks. Adjustment will be poor, so they'll be stiff like a pogo-stick or otherwise ineffective, and they'll be heavy. That's why you don't see suspension forks on road bikes generally.
Don't get me wrong, suspension has it's place and if you buy a bike with cheap suspension it's not going to be dangerous or anything, but it will make you burn a few more calories and possibly slow you up marginally