Complete novice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Cunnini

hi,

I'm 46 years old male just taking up cycling after about five years of complete inactivity. Why? I need to get fitter and lose a bit of weight too.

I've bought a carrera crossfire II from halfords, and just done my first ride, about 5 miles return to the supermarket and filled the panniers with some groceries.

I'm back and legs are tired, and wondering what I need to do to improve. Suggestions?

I used to run a lot, and be quite fit, so was surprised legs are so bad. Are they different muscle groups or am I really that unfit?

Also, I live near Cambridge, which is quite flat, so how can I practice hills etc, when running I used to go up and down the same bits which was boring but doable but now on a bike I'm seeing this as impractical?

Thanks all,
Ian

ianrauk

Tattooed Beat Messiah
Hi Cunnini and welcome to Cycle Chat.

You did well to do 5 miles. When I took up cycling again after a long break it was as much as I could do to manage a mile. But I kept at it, kept cycling. Over time it became easier as I became fitter and my muscles and body adjusted to the stresses of exercise and cycling.

So just keep it up, it's not a quick and easy process by any stretch. Take it a bit easy and don't over do it and over all, just enjoy cycling.
You will get fitter & you will lose weight.

Keep us all updated with your progress.

MiK1138

Veteran
Hi Cunni Can't really add anything to above. You've done 5 miles? Do another 5 another day then 6 then 8 ad infinitum. as long as you are enjoying it the fitness and weight loss will come.

Reactions: mjr