Constructive Criticisms Welcome

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Dan_Stan

Hi All,

Whilst I am not new to cycling I am new to touring and extended trips. I like to set myself challenges and this years will be doing JOGLE in July.

I intend on using only a rear rack bag only and I will be riding a custom bulit steel Genesis Croix De Fer. I will be staying in B&B's and Travelodge's (if I book Travelodges now I can get a rate of around £27 pn). Travelodge stops are marked with an ** below.

As an Ex Army Commando there are a few places I want to visit (Speen Bridge, Princetown ect) but my route (legs 3 and 8 appear to be unlike most that I have seen on the forum.

Could you please give any advice as to why nobody (or not that I have seen on this forum has gone this way on legs 3 and 8)... Or if anyone has gone a similar way I would well your comments...

In advance, thank you...

Leg 1 JOG to Bonar Bridge (via Loch Naver)
Leg 2 Bonar Bridge to Fort William (via Commando Memorial)
Leg 3 Fort William** to Fairlie (via Kilcreggan - Gourock ferry)
Leg 4 Fairlie to Gretna Green (via A76)
Leg 5 Gretna Green to Preston** (via A 6)
Leg 6 Preston to Ludlow** (lunch with family in Stockton Heath)
Leg 7 Ludlow to Bridgewater** (via Clifton Suspension Bridge)
Leg 8 Bridgewater to Saltash** (via Exeter, Princetown, Yelverton)
Leg 9 Saltash to Lands End (via A390 to Truro and country lanes to Penzance)

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
Given that it seems that every July for the last 6 years has been horribly wet, are you sure that you can carry enough in that rack bag? I've had to wear full winter kit on some awful summer rides but I certainly wouldn't want to if the weather turned out nice.

I haven't got my map handy to check, but are the A-roads you mentioned really the best of the available options?