Convert to Single Chainring?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

LazyLoki

Hi guys,

the front derailleur on my commuter bike is on its way out and seeing as I rarely ever shift out of the middle ring anyway, I was thinking about just getting rid of it and the other two rings.

As far as I can see it should be pretty much as simple as removing the shifter, cable, derailleur and the other rings, but am I missing anything? Will the middle chainring fit onto the crank arms without any modification? I'm pretty new to doing my own work on the bike and don't want to do it before I get any other bits I might need to do the conversion.

Thanks for any input!

zimzum42

Legendary Member
Why not just remove the cable from the front mech, set the limiter screws so it doesn't move, and leave the other rings on. Much simpler. It's not like you'll be saving much weight by removing them

say if you need a more detailed description of what I'm talking about...

Bodhbh

Guru
LazyLoki said:
As far as I can see it should be pretty much as simple as removing the shifter, cable, derailleur and the other rings, but am I missing anything? Will the middle chainring fit onto the crank arms without any modification? I'm pretty new to doing my own work on the bike and don't want to do it before I get any other bits I might need to do the conversion.
I had a punt at this recently on the hackbike as the small ring was not getting any use; the middle ring was barely, but I needed it for another bike.

Someone more knowledgable might correct me, although when I tried it it was easy enuff to remove the small ring, but the middle and large ring mount through the same holes and need the thickness of the other ring to hole them tight. I guess you could replace one with some washers - in the end I left it be.

Landslide

Rare Migrant
Bodhbh said: