Crank bearing -Apollo Guru

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Trax

IMG_20231204_121838.jpg

17017087074686894143592946145839.jpg

Hi. Grateful for help with the following queries regarding the bottom bracket on my Apollo Guru. Note that this is my first attempt at a bottom bearing replacement. Please see the second photo (components) and note that one of the two bearing races is not shown, as it had disintegrated. Note also that the component top left (above the bearing) is a plastic insert and is not threaded. My first question is: What replacement part(s) do I need to order? Do I just need two races? Or do I need a spindle too? Or is there a conversion I should make to a cartridge bearing? I was expecting a cartridge to come out. My second question regards the picture of the frame taken from the right hand side with the frame upturned. As can be seen there is an insert which I have not been able to remove (noting it should be a reverse thread). Clearly I did not need to remove it in order to remove the bearing. Can I assume that I will Also be able to reassemble the bike without needing to remove the insert? Very many thanks in advance for any help you can give.

Ajax Bay

Guru
. . . a cartridge bearing? frame right hand side .... there is an insert which I have not been able to remove (noting it should be a reverse thread). I did not need to remove it in order to remove the bearing. [Will I] be able to reassemble the bike without needing to remove the insert?
If you care about authenticity it's cheap to get ?9 new bearings (best not in a cage) from your LBS; clean everything and generous with the grease. Otherwise replace this with a 'cartridge' BB: Shimano's perfectly economic best is a UN-300 . Many other makes are available (get one with metal both ends).
Measure the spindle (eg 122.5mm) and also the width of the BB shell (assume 68mm).