Cycling helmets.Opinions please

Status
Not open for further replies.
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

RedFeend

I am just starting out cycling again after a 20+ year lull. I have never worn a helmet. They did not exist when I was young. The research I've found relating to whether helmets reduce head injury is conflicting and contradictory. I can see from the forums here that there is disagreement. Personally I think they are bl...y ugly, but that's not a good reason not to wear one.

I am very interested in hearing people's opinions on helmets, along with their reasoning. I am still sitting on the fence (which is getting uncomfortable) and can't decide whether to buy one or not.

Please don't be annoyed by my indecisiveness. I'm only a beginner. . Thank you.

snorri

Legendary Member
. The research I've found relating to whether helmets reduce head injury is conflicting and contradictory. I can see from the forums here that there is disagreement.

You have summed up the current situation accurately, there is no firm evidence either way. Fortunately we as cyclists still have the choice to wear, or not to wear.

mcshroom

Bionic Subsonic
Hi RedFeend and :welcome:

I'm afraid you have just stumbled into a minefield on here (this thread will get moved to the Helmet thread dungeon).

My simple answer is if you want to wear one then do so, if not then don't bother. I looked into the evidence and in my humble opinion there is no particular reason to wear one for normal road riding, and I don't like the way they suggest cycling is a dangerous activity requiring special protective equipment. OTOH I'm happy that people decide for themselves whether they choose to wear one or not. :smile:

MrJamie

Oaf on a Bike
I got one reluctantly about a year ago and I actually prefer riding with it now, not particularly for any safety claims, its just comfy, keeps the low sun out of my eyes and the ventilation is good.

Custom24

Über Member