Cycling LEJOG first time in 2 weeks, help needed!

Do we have to take a Bike Lock on LEJOG? If so, could you advise best options.

• Total voters
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Tom Wright

Hey all,

Off 2 weeks today and super excited. Never done any long distance cycle before. Me and my partner are doing it over 19 days before a round the world trip.

Anyway, we hoped for some advice on the following poll which will help so much.

We are staying at B&Bs and airbnbs and want to be as lightweight as possible, only taking saddle bags.

We hoped we could get away with not having a lock, keeping them in our room at night and during the day just take them into pubs / cafes. I am doubting if this is possible.

If anyone is reading this and also wants to pass on any little advice for a beginner cyclist doing this long trip that would be amazing too.

Thank you all for reading.

Tom

KneesUp

Guru
I've never done this before either, but I'd suggest that not all BnB's have facilities to keep your bike indoors. Many of the ones I've been in are just houses with a few spare rooms, and I doubt the owners would have liked me to have dragged a wet oily bike up their stairs, removing wallpaper as I went.

Perhaps speak to the BnBs you are thinking of using and make bookings? I know people take bikes into Travelodges/ Premier Inns (not sure which chain or if it's both) with no problem.

In the day you should be fine as there are two of you so one can stay with the bikes if needs be,

MikeG

Guru
When we booked B&B's for our Lejog we checked on their bike storage facilities, and didn't book if they didn't have somewhere secure. This meant we never used the bike lock, which we carried the entire 999 miles as ballast. Well, I mean, the ride is that easy that you have to try to make it a bit more interesting somehow, don't you? ;)