cycling newbie after some advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

gkirky

Hello all,
my names george, this is my first post on the website, wasnt sure weather to put it in beginners or mechanics so im sorry if its in the wrong place. i started riding on and off road about a month ago and really enjoyed it, the only problem was my bike, i mean it was a cheap-as-chips car boot jobby and i dont mind admitting it is sh*t haha! as i enjoyed riding i though an upgrade was in order, though being a student unfortunatly money is lacking. i have bought myself a kona blast ( not sure of age as i bought it on eBay) and it seems perfect for me, although i want it to be reliable so i would like to replace some of the parts that are looking worn.
firstly the chain slips occasionally, so i thought it would be best to replace the chain, front and back sprocket (or would it be easier to just buy a new rear wheel and front sprocket??)
i have had a look online for these, but it seem i need a little more bike knowledge before i buy the wrong parts. currently i have 21 ( 3X7 ) gears on my bike, so would i be right in thinking i need a 7 speed bike chain? and also does it matter what chain i buy, as i can see they vary in price?
With the back sprocket (or do you call it a cassette?!) im assuming i would need a 7 speed again..? had a quick look on halfrauds website and i dont really know what the 12 - 28T means but would i need something like this?

http://www.halfords.com/cycling/bik...ables/shimano-cs-hg20-7-speed-cassette-12-28t

(i know this is a very cheap one, and i would rather get one thats a bit more expensive and will last longer, this is just an example)

ill leave it there for now as im asking a lot of questions and could probably do with something to read before i go much further, well thanks for reading and hopefully ill get a few replies,
george

RichardB

Slightly retro