Cycling on TdF stage on the morning before the race

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

alkamid

I've never done this before and since I am in Cambridge, I thought I might try cycling the 3rd stage before the professionals. In the FAQ (http://letour.yorkshire.com/the-grand-départ-2014/faq) they say:

You can ride on the stage 1 and 2 routes on race days.

Does anyone know about the 3rd stage? Assuming that I will make it at least 0.5h before the caravan, can I cycle on the closed roads?

Yes you can as long as you arrived a good hour or so before the caravan as they start making you walk and delay you along the way in the last hour with stoppages as they do checks and updates. For example we had to stop at Ilkley as the crowds were big and walk and then we were not allowed back on at the crossing point as we wanted to carry onto skipton.

If you want to ride the whole stage I would go tonight and do it or set off really early tomorrow and do it.

mangid

Guru
Not in Cambridge or Essex, the roads are closed from 7am, and the websites claim they won't let cyclists on the closed roads.

I'm setting of from Cambridge ~5:15 and going to Finchingfield, and then heading back to catch the start with the kids.

mangid

Guru
Should have give references:

http://www.letouressex.com/en-gb/faq.aspx

Looks like it's 7:30am in Essex

Are the roads going to be closed for walkers, cyclists and horse riders?

The roads remain open for walkers but cyclists will have to dismount and walk. Cyclists and horse riders will not be able to use the closed roads until they re-open. They need to be off the route some time before event arrives for safety purposes.

Are bikes allowed through road closures and are bikes allowed to cycle on the closed route in front of the race?

Riders on bikes are not allowed through road closures. No bike riding is permitted on the route for the period of the road closures.