Cycling pros and gods I need your help

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Nb1

Regular
Hi all,

I'm new to this so a bit of background I'm currently going through a bit of turmoil and long story short my friend has very kindly donated his old old old road bike for commuting he said it needs some work doing to it.

The bike is a specialized allez sport compact he says it's a 2011 model.

It has a shimano sora 3500 groupset which is totally screwed and needs replacing. Now the problem is I am flat out broke and unfortunately can't even afford to replace this groupset heartbreaking I know considering it's a Low end groupset but that's the situation.

So getting on to the question can anyone recommend the cheapest decent groupset I could get u I mean I don't even care if it doesn't have the shifters although there cool so it would be cool to keep these I don't mind if it's super old groupset like I say I will literally be biking around 25m for work a day for a while nothing competetive, it's a relatively flat route so I don't need like 30 gears. I just need to get this bike up and running for as cheap as possible ( bare in mind the sora was out of my range ) if anyone has anything for sale that might be of use let me know please and thank you in advance.

Attachments

• IMG-20190606-WA0002.jpeg
    IMG-20190606-WA0002.jpeg
    94.3 KB · Views: 46

vickster

Legendary Member
2011 really isn’t very old :laugh:

If your riding is flat or you’re fit, maybe you could convert to single speed?

OP
OP
Nb1

Nb1

Regular
To be honest the extra olds where aimed at the condition haha I have have seen a shimano tourney a070 6 piece group set which I could probably stretch for its £150 and than get it fitted. Do you think this is viable guessing it should be if converting to a single speed is? Thanks for your responce BTW

Ian H

Ancient randonneur