Cycling with a child.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

summerdays

Cycling in the sun
Thanks for the advice folks.

My main worry was about position - I've only ridden on 'roads' with him at Centerparcs before - with two adults one in front and one behind.

He does sometimes already ride on pavements (with me on foot) so knows about taking care around pedestrians etc.

I'm no expert cyclist myself - far from it. Reading posts about sun position etc is making me thing I should approach my local council with regard to having some cycle training myself as I never had any at school.

I would get the training ... you should find it useful.

As for where you should be ... behind and slightly to the right is the normal position.

She has pretty poor bike skills (almost all confidence related) but when the car is around I'm going to take her up and down a few miles of shared path to get her confidence up.

If she doesn't have the bike skills herself then she won't be able to concentrate on what her child is doing so definitely work on that first. Then if you think she is ready you could do the school run with her or instead of her to show her it is possible.

quassleberry

I've always cycled behind and to the right of my children when out cycling on the roads. I can't remember what age they were but probably 7/8 yrs.

Even up until my son was 14ish if he wanted to go to friends who lived 2 villages further along I would go with him and go and collect him (and any other friends) but only because they were on country roads (not lanes) with the speed limit of 60mph. When he reached 15 I only accompanied them if they wanted to come back after dark.