Cyclist killed in police pursuit.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Slick

Guru
Obviously there will be an enquiry and all that but that driver didn't care who he hit.

First thought for the cyclist, I hope he/She recovers.

Drago

Legendary Member
I have no knowledge of this particular case, but all pursuits require authorisation from a tactical adviser of at least inspector rank. There's usually one or more knocking around a control room for that very reason. Spontaneous pursuits can occur, but they quickly need authorising before they can continue.

The necessity of the pursuit and its subsequent authorisation are always reviewed where there is an injury or fatality.

An example of how far reaching those enquiries are. Many moons back a friend of mine was on a marked police bike stuck in heavy Friday evening traffic. Unbeknownst to him a villain on a stolen moped spots him. Villain panics, tries to mount the kerb on the stolen bike to escape down an alley way, falls off, breaks his leg. My chum had no actual involvement and didn't even know about it until long afterwards. Despite his lack of involvement and a room full of witnesses who confirmed this, his motorbike ticket was suspended for nearly a year while it was investigated. Thats how seriously it's taken.

PS, if anyone was wondering he told them to shove it when they tried to reinstate him. One less (trained at great expense) traffic officer because of a heavy handed approach, and they wonder why no one wants to do the role any more.

stowie

Legendary Member
This happened just down the road from me. The cyclist was named as Zakeri Hussain. He has a wife in Iran and 10 month old baby who he has never seen. Zakeri is currently in a coma with head and spinal injuries - doctors give him a 10% chance of survival.

Local friends are trying to raise money for his wife and child to come to the UK so they can at least say goodbye to him if the worst happens.