Denmark to Stockholm - what route?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ciquta

I'm planning a tour Verona-Nordkapp but no idea about what's the best route to get to Stockholm.

My guess is ferry crossing at Helsingborg then head for Orkelljunga is that right?

My priority is to avoid traffic and climbs

I'm planning a tour Verona-Nordkapp but no idea about what's the best route to get to Stockholm.

My guess is ferry crossing at Helsingborg then head for Orkelljunga is that right?

My priority is to avoid traffic and climbs

If I wanted to avoid climbs I wouldn't cross the Alps! ^_^

That's a mighty trip you're contemplating!

I have no experience of Denmark or further north but https://cycle.travel/map would be my go to resource. It will show the main international routes (EV) as well as some local ones. It's algorithm is suited to touring, I find, choosing routes with minimal traffic. Elevation detail is given too.

https://www.crazyguyonabike.com is another useful resource for journals. There is a very useful map feature where you can see where other bike tourists have travelled with direct links to their journals.

Is there another way of looking at the question, though?
Instead of a route as a primary goal or "the best" what about looking at the places that interest you and looking to link them together?

For me, a route falls into place depending on such things as weather, accommodation, resupply, budget, time, and load but I always prefer going somewhere I actually want to go to rather than another checkpoint on a "route".
I've surprised myself at how much I (a hill-climbingphobe) will willingly take a mountain route because there's somewhere I want to visit up there.
On a long tour such as this it can make a difference between the ears to knock off regular goals that I want to achieve as opposed to counting down the Kms to the final destination.

Good luck and please come back to update us on progress.

BoldonLad