Design Requirements

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BrowserOne

Hi,
I am a DT student who is working on a product to help people who ride at night, and i would like to as if you were to buy a product that made riding at night better and safer, what would you like it to do?

P.s. any comment/ advice anything i should consider would be of great help.

Thank you

sleuthey

Legendary Member
What would you like it to do?

Provide my next of kin with coordinates if I fall off.

Sharky

Guru
Difficult question.

Prime safety consideration is to be able to see the road ahead and for other road users to see the cyclist. However, there are numerous good quality lighting systems out there already.

One aspect of being seen is the use of reflective materials. Pedal reflectors do this well, but do not exist in the performance pedal range and are not considered "cool" by club cyclists. Reflective slap bands are very effective.

Maybe the development of unobtrusive but reflective components could be researched.

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
Tough question.
How about a ‘beacon’ type device that alerted drivers to your prescence via their satnavs?

‘Caution, fat slow man on a bicycle ahead’....

A small portable device which alerts wildlife to my approach and encourages them to move away without bouncing in front of me.
Or maybe i should just stick a lollipop stick in my spokes.

Good lick with your project
How about a audio warning device, perhaps a cellulose-based rectangle angled to be vibrated by rotating spokes, and held at optimum location by spring loaded fixings.

Cycling jackets seem to either black or lime green and have almost no reflective stuff or industrial quantities.
I would like a normal looking jacket, not a sport or racing one, in a bright, non-green colour (orange or red), with all round reflective stuff.
Reflective bike paint.
Reflective mudguards (red at rear)