Devon C2C on a road bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Wolf616

Über Member
Hi

Planning on doing this over 2 days in a few weeks but I am a little worried about the quality of surface, as I often am with NCN routes (I've had some bad experiences in the past - even though I love them they just aren't suitable for my bike!)

Has anyone done it on a road bike and, if so, are there particular bits to plot an alternative route around? Any help much appreciated...

I'm planning on stopping at Okehampton overnight - does that seem sensible?

Last edited:

Dave 123

Legendary Member
Are you going North to South?

There are a couple of bits to stick to the road rather than follow the route.

Coming out of Lydford don't turn left into the car park to go acrossthe moor. Just carry on along the road, you'll get to to the same place without the swamp.

In Peter Tavy, again, just stick to the road rather than going down the narrow track.

On the tandem we stayed in Hatherleigh and Tavistock for a nice 3 day ride.
Okehampton would work though.

Dirk

If 6 Was 9
Hi

Planning on doing this over 2 days in a few weeks but I am a little worried about the quality of surface, as I often am with NCN routes (I've had some bad experiences in the past - even though I love them they just aren't suitable for my bike!)

Has anyone done it on a road bike and, if so, are there particular bits to plot an alternative route around? Any help much appreciated...

I'm planning on stopping at Okehampton overnight - does that seem sensible?

Luke
Might help if you could post your intended route map, as there are several variations to the 'official' route.
Okehampton seems about right for your overnight stay as it would be approximately half way.
I can recommend Meadow Lea B&B in Okehampton - cycle friendly and handy for starting the next leg on the Granite Way.

OP
OP
Wolf616

Wolf616

Über Member