Did you change from Hybrid to Drop Bar Bike

First bike a Hybrid/Flat Bar. Have you changed to a Drop Bar Bike?

• Use hybrid/flat bar only

Votes: 481 40.9%
  • Use both a hybrid/flat bar and drop bar bike

Votes: 487 41.4%
  • Use drop bar bike only

Votes: 206 17.5%
  • Don't/Can't ride anymore

Votes: 5 0.4%

• Total voters
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Sixmile

Veteran
I'm a step behind on the journey. I've been riding a Cannondale Trail mtb for a few months, purely on the road, and now I'm deciding whether to slowly transition ie to hybrid, or to go the whole hog and buy a drop bar cycle. The hybrid seems and easier transition, and probably more comfortable, and I may never go to road bikes. Or I might find hybrid an unnecessary interim step. Any advice would be welcome. Btw I'm 61 yo.

I restarted my cycling on a cheapo MTB with flat bars, bought a semi-decent hybrid and upped my mileage and reignited my cycling enjoyment then bought a decent road bike. Fast forward 5 years, my road bike hardly turns a wheel and 90% of my annual cycling mileage is done between a decent touring barred hybrid, a looped bar cheapish fat bike and a butterfly barred tandem - all of which will do 50-100 mile rides fairly often.

Electric_Andy

Heavy Metal Fan
I'm not sure if I've replied to this in the past or not. I re-started my cycling hobby on a MTB, changed the tyres to skinny slicks and got a better saddle so started doing longer rides. Then got a road bike but converted drops to flat bars, then converted gears to single speed, then sold it and got an ebike

iandg

Legendary Member
I've ridden drops since I was 12. Started to struggle around 2020 with shoulder pain and fatigue. In 2022 I was diagnosed with PMR. All bikes are "flats" now to reduce the load on my shoulders and upper arms.

Sallar55

Veteran