DIY build with DC Brushed Motor

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Loker

Hi all,

I’m studying electrical engineering at university and I’m working on putting together an electric bike for my senior project . I have an old brushed DC hub motor and three new rechargeable 12V lead-acid batteries that have a capacity of 15Ah each. I also have a bike frame that fits my hub motor and an ebike throttle I inherited from one of my dad’s old projects. I’ve looked extensively but I can’t find any specs on my motor online.

The thing I’m struggling with is I have no idea how to build a control unit between the batteries and the motor. I think a buck converter whose output voltage is somehow regulated by the position of the throttle might work but I have a strong feeling that there’s more to it than that.

Does anyone know of any resources detailing the typical circuitry between batteries and a brushed DC hub motor in the context of electric bikes?

Any and all replies are appreciated!

-Sean

I think you'll find most motor speeds are now controlled by "Pulse Width Modulation" due to less power wastage.
But that's about as much as I know.

Luck .......... ^_^

I think that's with a 3 phase brushless 'Hall Effect' motor.
I think it works for all motors.
Electronic tutorial on PWM & Motors -> http://www.electronics-tutorials.ws/blog/pulse-width-modulation.html
From the tutorial ......
Pulse width modulation is a great method of controlling the amount of power delivered to a load without dissipating any wasted power. The above circuit can also be used to control the speed of a fan or to dim the brightness of DC lamps or LED’s. If you need to control it, then use Pulse Width Modulation to do it.

QFour

Regular
The easiest way would be to use an off shelf electronic speed control unit

The OP is studying Electrical Engineering don't think the University would appreciate an off the shelf conversion.