Does anyone commute race style?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BlackPanther

Hyper-Fast Recumbent Riding Member.
I saw a trio of cyclists today. They went past in the opposite direction, but appeared to be on high spec bikes (I'm no expert, but they all had those snazzy deep rimmed race wheels on) They also had their arses 6 inches above their handlebars. (I'm a seat/handlebars at the same height kind of guy). They didn't appear to be going very fast, and I wonder if I (with over a year commuting 22 miles per day under my belt) would be able to take one of these weekend road riders? After all, I probably do more miles per week. I'm at the stage now where I can ride pretty darn fast for 10 miles without really getting exhausted, and I always seem to be going significantly faster than other commuters....although most commuters I see are on MBs/Town bikes.

I'd love to have a go on a 3 grand bike, just to see if there really is a significant difference over my sub 1/2 grand Allez. Is there?

fungus

Veteran
Not much, but they are nice
thumbsup.png

My quickest ride of the last year or so was a commute home from work on my heavy winter bike with a pannier bag I averaged 22mph over 19miles. I took the last 3miles nice & steady, total distance is 22miles. I think my fastest avg on my summer bike a Giant TCR2, ultegra, ksyrium ssc sl's was just over 19mph.

monnet

Guru