Domane Vs Madone sizing

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

drkash

I've currently got a 58cm Trek Madone 3.5 CH2 2013 bike. When I got it last year the steerer tube had been cut really short and it gave me back pain. Extending the steerer tube by 60mm and shortening the stem by 10mm and flipping it make a good difference and it felt fairly comfortable to ride.

I'm now looking to get a Domane SL5 and have seen a decent used one which is 56cm. I can't go and see it as it is too far. Looking at the trek website I "should" be 58cm but my past experience with the Madone 58cm wasn't an ideal fit. Obviously the bikes are a different type though.

I'm 6ft / 184cm with a leg length of 34"

Any advice on size difference between these two bikes or advice on what others with a similar height / LL as me have found fits them?

I have found this comparison website also although I'm no expert to compare the geometry. Many thanks again for any advice

Screenshot_20240213_204022_Chrome.jpg

EltonFrog

Legendary Member
I’m the same height and leg as you, I had the 56cm Madone 3.5. When I got the Domane, SL5 it was recommended that I get the 58cm. I thought it was too big at the time, but it suits me well. Not sure if this helps, the Madone & Domane are really quite different bikes. Having typed all that I think overall I preferred the Madone, but that might be sentimentality.

si_c

Guru
I would say that the 58cm is probably in the ball park (I'm 6'5" and ride a 62cm Domane) - it's already 20mm higher front end than the Madone with similar reach - so given that you said that the steerer on the Madone had been cut down before you bought it it's probably similar.

I'd definitely suggest trying to get to a shop where you can try one though, there's no real substitute for that.

OP
OP
D

drkash