Drivetrain

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Joe22

So I purchased an older mountain bike that I believe has an older drivetrain (see attached photo). During my research I see that the ideal drivetrain is a 1 x 12 and I'd like to make the upgrade. However, I'm not sure how compatible this bike would be with adding 3 more gears to the cassette in the back. I'd like to make the upgrade as I've come to find out that the gears do not hit all gears on the handlebars. For instance the shifters only work on gears 1-5 in the rear and 1-2 on the front.

Is it difficult to make the upgrade to a Shimano Diore that is a 1x12 (especially for the rear)? As I'm a newbie into the mountain bike world I'm looking for some advice as to what I can do with this bike.

Thanks in advance,

Joe

Attachments

• IMG_20210514_153938.jpg
    IMG_20210514_153938.jpg
    178.8 KB · Views: 8
I wouldn’t bother spending xxx in upgrading, instead I would take it to a bike shop for a service for £40-£50 and they can index the gears, maybe reset the cable tension and should be/ will be able to use all of the gears?

boydj

Legendary Member
Why upgrade an old bike - it would be fairly expensive and may not be feasible on your bike, since it would require a new shifter, rear mech, chain, cassette and possibly a rear wheel? This could easily cost more than you paid for the bike.

Being new to mountain biking, you would be better getting your bike serviced so that it works properly and get some experience on it so that you know what you need in your next upgrade or new bike.

DRM

Guru
IMHO budget for a new chain, new cassette, same type as already fitted, new gear cables and outers and some new brake pads, you are going to end up going down a rabbit hole where you will spend far more than you'll ever get for it if you decide you want to replace it with a new bike, then at least you know it'll change gear crisply and properly, and it can stop,