Dry lube?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

chris folder

Hi :hello: anyone use muc offs dry Lube? How do you find it rideing etc? Its my first time useing muc off dry lube today cleaned my chain then put the lube on the chain i notice the lube sits like white liquid on the chain but quite runny is the lube surpose to dry in to the chain on mine stays white liquid? Other dry lube I have use dry almost straight away

si_c

Guru
Hi :hello: anyone use muc offs dry Lube? How do you find it rideing etc? Its my first time useing muc off dry lube today cleaned my chain then put the lube on the chain i notice the lube sits like white liquid on the chain but quite runny is the lube surpose to dry in to the chain on mine stays white liquid? Other dry lube I have use dry almost straight away
It's very good IMO, but it does wash out easily in wet weather.

Once applied, let it sit a bit then wipe the chain and you're good to go.

I find it's a really clean lube in use, but it does need reapplying regularly, and after a wet ride. Chain noise is a bit louder than wet or ceramic lube, but quieter than some other brands.

Salty seadog

Space Cadet...(3rd Class...)
It's awful stuff.

I tried it once and will never again. Wet lube all the way all the time, muc off for me.
As @si_c says dry lube does not quieten down the drive train much, this basically means there is metal on metal contact. Not good for the drive train or your ears.

@Yellow Saddle explained it and it makes perfect sense to me. A dry lube starts out runny and works it's way into the internals of the chain and then dries to a waxy coating over the chain. However under load the plates squeeze together and the lube is expelled from this closing gap but when the load is taken off and the gap widens the waxy lube cannot flow back in unlike the still liquid wet lube, in effect you very quickly have no lube and a noisy chain again.