Dynahub or not for tourer?

Should I get a dynamo hub for my tourer?

• Yes

Votes: 1 100.0%
  • No, stick with battery power

• Lights, who needs lights? (seems to be favoured by far too many in Oxford)

• Total voters
Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

johnb5271

Yellow7 said:
As an electronics engineer I decided to use the SON hub on my custom touring bike to charge AA & AAA batteries for mp3 player, camera & lights via a regulation circuit I made, this was set to deliver 250mA charge current & always ensured I had batteries ready for use.

:blush:

That sounds very interesting, is there much involved in doing this?

Is it heavy/bulky?

yello

johnb5271 said:
That sounds very interesting, is there much involved in doing this?

It'd be interesting to me as well.

yello

andym said:
It's very obvious you're in love with the engineering

I don't know what makes you think that. I actually don't care about the technology nor engineering, I was simply after a no-hassle, effective lighting solution.

When I was commuting, I found the battery leds I had next to useless for seeing by. As I researched the subject, it seemed (then) the cost of decent battery lights was high plus they required daily charging. Being of a forgetful nature, that didn't suit me. That made a dynamo my preferred option.

But even then, when I got my first dynolight (a B&M lumotech oval), it still didn't give the light I would have liked (expecially when I started riding unlit rural roads). It wasn't until I got the Cyo that I really felt I got the answer for me.

Btw, you've added a couple of extra cons that I wouldn't agree with, at least no more so than a set of battery lights.

that doesn't mean it's necessarily the best solution for everyone and in all circumstances.

I'd agree with you there but then, in the phrase that piqued you, I was talking about my own decision...

yello said:
Do it, a no brainer for me really.