Dyno Hub

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Tombo 707

I am looking for some possitive feedback as I am looking at investing in dyno hub for my new Sabbath September. The winters are long and dark here in Shetland and I was thinking at the idea of using a dyno hub.

Wobbly John

Veteran
I've been using a cheap & cheerful dynohub for a couple of years - like the Novatech ones that are on ebay for about £20. The drag is only just noticable, although I did the last club time trial of the season with it on and caught my minute and 2 minute men! ;)

I've used it to power LED front lights that are shown on my webpage . The batteries in LED rear lights last ages so Im haven't bothered connecting it to the dymano.

Randochap

Senior hunter
I highly recommend a dynohub for lighting. No more phaffing w/ batteries.

If you can afford one, I'd say go for the SON by Schmidt. It's simply the best money can buy.

Second in line would be the Shimano, then SRAM i-light.

Check out the set ups I have on my brevet bikes, via link below.

GrahamG

Guru
It's one of those 'never looked back' purchases for most people who regularly cycle in the dark. Given your latitude, I'm surprised you've not already got one. I have a Schmidt and whilst it's a big investment, it's been in constant use for at least 6 months of the year for the last 3 years and encourages me to go out more at night.

Paul_Smith SRCC

www.plsmith.co.uk
Tombo 707 said:
I am looking for some possitive feedback as I am looking at investing in dyno hub for my new Sabbath September. The winters are long and dark here in Shetland and I was thinking at the idea of using a dyno hub.
I use a Schmidt hub and BM IQ fly on my winter fixed, a hub dynamo doesn't slip in the wet, is realiable, plus you can fit and forget with no need to worry about charging batteries or being concerned that there will just be a little yellow glow before I get home as can be the case with standard battery lamps.