Elbow problems!

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

adam2008

Hi
I biked 30 miles recently, and for a few days after my elbows hurt. Should I be biking with my arms locked off or have a slight bend in them?
Thanks, Adam

walker

A slight bend. if your arms are out straight you don't have any cushion for bumps etc. push your saddle closer to front of the bike to give some leway

domtyler

Über Member
Are you new to cycling? If so it is quite normal to get strange aches and pains in the early days, they will go after a few weeks so don't worry. If they don't just go then you know you have some kind of problem.

Maz

Guru
Are you new to cycling?
What kind of bike is it? Is it one of these:
upside-down-bicycle.gif

(er, i agree with wot dom said ;))

OP
OP
adam2008

adam2008

Yeah I am new to long distance biking.
My bike is similar to that model but looks more like this!

Paulus

Started young, and still going.
Agree with the above posts. Your saddle may be a bit too far back. try moving it forward a little at a time. you shpuld have a slight bend in your arm to absorb some of the road shock that the forks don't absorb.

OP
OP
adam2008

adam2008

If it is to do the shock (obviously the straight arms too), is there an arguement for taking some air out of the tyres? I currently have them up to ~100psi and there is no give, not even when I sit 12st on it.

Maz

Guru
Most road tyres are inflated to about 115-120 psi which is quite normal.
If you are new to road bikes or any bike without suspension, I think you'll have to give it time to get used to the 'bumpiness' of the ride, to be honest.
Deflating the tyres will make your ride less efficient and you will be more prone to punctures.

Odyssey