Experience of Genesis Tour De Fer?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi

I am weighing up the Tour De Fer as an option for a bike upgrade and wondered if anyone on the forum had any experience of these bikes, specifically the "30"?

The bikes are like rocking horse poo at the moment but I have managed to find one in stock in my size and will likely move quickly to secure it.

CanucksTraveller

Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
I've got the 10 if that helps, it's become my number one bike in the last 9 or 10 months since I bought it, and it's perfect for what I needed. Feel free to ask any questions!

OP
OP
Son Of Anarchy

Son Of Anarchy

Regular
I've got the 10 if that helps, it's become my number one bike in the last 9 or 10 months since I bought it, and it's perfect for what I needed. Feel free to ask any questions!

I am brand new to touring and so my questions are more general than technical but I just have a couple of doubts in terms of braking when loaded and also how you find the standard fitted group set?

I think the 20 and 30 are slightly longer than the 10 (?) and obviously the standard spec will be different, but have you made any upgrades since getting yours? I have been advised to make some upgrades but then read on reviews that it's pretty much ready to roll out of the box.

I am planning several long distance (500 mile+) routes on it over the next 12/18 months so I suppose training rides will give me all the answers I need. Never owned a drop bar before either so this makes me slightly nervous.

Generally speaking though, do you find the bike with fixtures and fittings are of a high standard?