Feeling sleepy shortly after a long ride

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Mikeoupe

Hi,

I'm new to this road bike thing and new to the distances that a road bike allows you to do. Prior to buying my first road bike a month or two ago, I've been doing regular 8-12 mile circuits on and off road on a half way decent MTB. After say a 10 mile ride I'll return home full of beans, it really sets me up for the rest of the day.

Today I returned from a 30 mile circuit (which is long me at the moment) on the new road bike, I was cycling for approx 1hr 45mins and rather than feeling up beat on my return I quite quickly felt tired with an urge to go and have a lie down. I've noticed once or twice on the road bike that I've felt a bit worn out afterwards, although I've not felt like having a nap before.

Obviously I'm new to long distance cycling and therefore my fitness has some way to go but I was wondering; is the initial tiredness symptomatic of a dietary thing? fluids? am I pushing myself a bit too hard? I'm just looking for some thoughts to rattle around as this is completely new to me.

Thanks
Mike

srw

It's a bit more complicated than that...
You're tired after doing unaccustomed exercise? In other news, the pope is a catholic and if you go down to the woods today you'll surprise a bear doing something.

Seriously, don't worry about it. Holding 17mph+ for an hour and three-quarters is going some - typical touring pace is more like 12mph, and if you read the audax reports they'll take about 13-14mph. Cycling is tough, physical work, and will make you tired. In time you'll get fitter and be more able to deal with it. I regularly go to the gym for an hour at 9am, working with a PT. Sometimes I come out ready to face the working day. Sometimes I come out wanting to curl up and go back to sleep.

Broadside

Guru