First commuting bike advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Cerveza

Hi. I've started a new job and it's much more commutable (8.5 miles) than my previous job. I'm new to the commuting world and looking for some advice.

I'm looking to spend £250-300 including the bike and accessories. A friend of a friend has a boardman comp 2016 in good condition with the gears being serviced last week by halfords. He wants £200 for it. Will brand new hybrid bikes that are similar priced be better?

I'm going to get the following on accessories...

Rack - xpork - (Amazon): £11.19.
Panniers - HONPHIER - (amazon): 18.99.
USB Led lights - Balhvit - (amazon) 12.99.
Helmet - trespass crackster - (amazon) 11.99.

I'm going to wear my gym clothes with a hat, gloves and leg thermals to start with and see how sweaty I get.

I'm yet to pick a mug guard if anyone has recommendations. If there is anything else I've missed please let me know :smile:

boydj

Legendary Member
That's a good distance for a commute, but you'll have to build your fitness up to make it doable every day. There's also lots to learn about staying safe on the road - and a lot of that is not obvious to a non-cyclist. Doing the Bikeability training would be a big help.

Your pal's Boardman is likely to be a better buy than a new bike in the £200 to £300 range. It will have a lighter frame and better quality components and wheels, though it may need some servicing tlc from somebody who knows a bit about bikes if it's not been used much.

If you can stick with it for the first five or six weeks, you'll soon pick up the fitness and start to enjoy the cycling.

OP
OP
C

Cerveza

That's a good distance for a commute, but you'll have to build your fitness up to make it doable every day. There's also lots to learn about staying safe on the road - and a lot of that is not obvious to a non-cyclist. Doing the Bikeability training would be a big help.