First Decent Bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

T675Rich

Hi

I am a total newbie when it comes to this kind of thing. I have recently started cycling to work a couple of times a week but my current bike it an Apollo mtb with dual suspension. I have been told by a few people that it is probably the least efficient thing I could be using because it was cheap when I got it over 10 years ago and as I m riding on roads and cycle paths the suspension will be working against me. I can't afford to buy a bike outright so was planning to use the cyclescheme thing that my employer offers.

I have spoken to all the local shops that I can get a bike from and was looking at £400ish price range based on the cost calculator and they all recommend the makes that they stock (obvioulsy). As above my commute is mainly roads and cyclepaths although some are lots of uneven slaps as I am not confident using the road on some uphills at the moment as I will cause an obstruction, the most off road I will get will be canal tow paths probably.

Any for the tl:dr version the bikes I have been recommended are:

The Giant Escape 2 (They recommended the non disc version but I have read that discs are better if you are how to put it, a larger person)
Ridgeback Velocity
Cube Aim Pro

The guy who sold the Cube bikes said I would get "more bang for my buck" with a mountain bike with smoother tyres and wouldn't stop raving about Cube as a company. The front suspension locks off.

I have a feeling they would all be much better than my current bike but I have no idea which is better.

vickster

Legendary Member
No need for suspension for your uses. It’ll be heavy and low end on a £400 bike so best avoided

The other two look good. Rider weight is not a decider on disc brakes (never heard that before). It’s more about being able to stop better in the wet especially in traffic

Try out the Giant and Ridgeback and see which you prefer

I like Skol

A Minging Manc...