First road bike - 6ft female

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi!

I've been riding a hybrid for 4 years and think it's time to explore the world of road cycling. Looking to do a couple of long distance charity rides and will be training for those in the upcoming months. Ideally want to comfortably ride for 100km+ a day.

Not entirely sure what size I need for my height. I suspect that my current bike is too small for me (Bobbin Blackbird - 47cm 700c) ... Women's bikes tend to be on the small side based on previous experience.

Any help with sizing, brands and desired specs would be extremely appreciated.

Budget is in £300 - 600 (dependent on projected longevity - please factor in above the mean levels of clumsiness)

Hello Ellie

for that budget and depending where you are, I would head to a decathlon. they have a good range of bikes, not especially woman specific but well spec'd for the cash.

good luck

vickster

Legendary Member
Agreed that women’s bikes are probably going to be too small especially if you have a long torso and not just long legs. I’m about 5’9.5 but long of leg and I ride 54cm top tube ‘men's’ frames so I’d assume a 56cm would be ballpark for you

Paul’s cycles sometimes have good deals on less usual frame sizes of wsd bikes so might be worth a look (and also men’s bikes)

Eg in 56cm (check the geometry)
https://www.paulscycles.co.uk/m7b0s134p9320/CUBE-AXIAL-WS-2018

Hi!

I've been riding a hybrid for 4 years and think it's time to explore the world of road cycling. Looking to do a couple of long distance charity rides and will be training for those in the upcoming months. Ideally want to comfortably ride for 100km+ a day.

Not entirely sure what size I need for my height. I suspect that my current bike is too small for me (Bobbin Blackbird - 47cm 700c) ... Women's bikes tend to be on the small side based on previous experience.

Any help with sizing, brands and desired specs would be extremely appreciated.