Flat Pedals

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Jim77

I have got a new MTB and it came with clipless pedals. I have never used clipless before and although I want to in the future while I am getting use to the bike (my first full suspension) and some new trails I want to put some flat pedals on it for the first couple of months before I try clipless.

I want some that are fairly big as I am a size 10 and will be wearing either trainers or boots prob. Unless you think I should buy some proper cycling shoes. Anyway , could someone recommend me some decent grippy flat pedals. At the moment I am considering some DMR V8s but any view on these or others would be very helpful.

Thanks.
- James

Steve Austin

The Marmalade Kid
V8's are about the best around at the price they are.

but you can get a wellgo v12 copy for less at CRC. :rolleyes:

OP
OP
J

Jim77

What about :

Specialized LO PRO MAG 2 PLATFORM PEDALS? They are a bit more expensive but are they worth the extra?

Cubist

Still wavin'
Steve Austin said:
V8's are about the best around at the price they are.

but you can get a wellgo v12 copy for less at CRC. :eek:

+1 for DMR V8s. Yes, the Wellgo copies look the same, but the V8s have a grease port which means you can force new grease into the spindles purging shite out the other end. Get the silver polished ones....all the others lose paint on the first ride and look scruffy. (Same with the Wellgos by the way)

As for performance, I too have big feet (10.5) and so far can't fault the flatties. I match the pedals with a pair of skate shoes with honeycomb soles on dry days, and a pair of walking trainers when things get sloppy.

maurice

V8's have a relatively small cage, if you have big feet you're better off with another pedal. The bearings are also very hit and miss, mine were awful and needed constant adjustment. Seems to be a quality control issue as some riders have no problems and others have lots.