Garage leaking

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Electric_Andy

Heavy Metal Fan
My garage is single brick, has been dry as a bone for 4 years. But back in November my gutter and drain became clogged and water pooled up the side and seeped in over the damp proof course. I cleared all the drainage but it's still damp coming in the bottom whenever it rains.

DPC is only.75 of an inch above the concrete base at the front, which is where it's coming in.

Any advice on what to do? Can't understand why it's been fine for 4 years, now drainage not an issue but still weeping in? Does DPC become less effective after it's been flooded through?

Psamathe

I'm no building expert but when I put in paving slabs beside the house slabs had to be a minimum distance below the DPC. Although slabs were outside the house, rain can apparently splash hence the minimum distance below DPC so it does not splash onto wall above the DPC and soak in causing damp.

Might this have something to do with your damp problem? Where I live we seem to have had a lot of heavy rain that goes on for days ...

Once water soaked into and through a wall I'd expect it would take a fairly long time to dry out (even without being replenished).

(I am no builder so only repeating what I found when doing my own works.)

Ian

Buck

Guru
The ground surrounding the garages is likely water logged and rain splashing up onto the brickwork may be breaching the DPC. Also, the bricks themselves may not have dried out properly so any sustained rain like we have been having is causing the bricks themselves to take on even more water and through capillary action the dampness is appearing. Potentially also a failure of the pointing ?

Check that there hasn't been a build up of debris (leaves, soil that's washed against the wall as well)

You can buy a brick sealer which if the pointing and bricks are in good condition can eliminate some of the problem.

OP
OP
E

Electric_Andy

Heavy Metal Fan