Getting slower; phyiscal, techincal or mental?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Nelson-CSG

Morning,

First time on here so be nice please

I have been riding for c5 years, all road, and have increased the amount of miles I cover over that time. This year I thought I would aim for a considerable increase, so far I’m up to c7k miles, last years total was 5.5k miles – A lot for some and not a lot for others.

So my issue is in the last few months I have gotten slower and slower. Now I’m not the fastest rider, average is 16.8mph, but recently I am down to 15mph. Nothing physical seems to have changed - I eat well, balanced and healthy. I do ride early so the dark mornings will have an effect. Also when I ride on the weekends with our small club I was generally out in the front at the pace we go, but the last 3 rides I have been struggerling towards the end of the ride and very much have to hide how much effort it takes to keep up with everyone – especially in the sprints.

General routine is a fasted riding in the week (4 days) to allow for the time before work. So I’ll ride for c2 hours, 4 till 6am, stretch on foam roller for 30 mins, protein shake, drive to work, large bowl of “heathy” cereal and fruit. Good healthy lunch, afternoon snack and good dinner.

3- 4 hour ride on Saturday morning before 10am, small breakfast first – energy bar 2 hours in.

I do eat very well, I am lean, but nothing health state wise has changed for 12 months, same weight etc

So far I have checked and changed:

1. Bearings
  2. Cassette and chain
  3. Tyres – winter ones (which I know will be slightly slower), but this was happening before this
  4. Tyres are at 100psi

Maybe its just a phase, but its playing with my enjoyment of riding – perhaps its just time to ignore the stats and ride with a smile instead of over thinking it!

Many thanks

alicat

Legendary Member
Welcome @Nelson-CSG

I generally count the smiles not the miles.