Going Clipless

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

BIGSESAL

Ok so I've been riding a road bike since christmas and I am really enjoying it.

I have been thinking about going clipless but need a bit of advice. I have about 100 to 150 quid to spend but I would to spend as little as possible (being a teenager means I can't afford anything too fancy). This budget would include pedals, shoes, cleats and any tools I wouls need.

Does anyone know of any good pedal/shoe combinations? I would like something comfortable, easy to use and I don't really mind looking stupid in them. What types of pedal are best and what type of cleats would I need to buy? Also I am not very good at bike repairs or modifications, is this a job for the LBS or should I be OK? Anything I may have forgotten?

Thanks,
Scott

MadoneRider1991

Über Member
i use Look KEN pedals with shimano shoes, the classic KEN pedal is around £30 then the cleats are around £20 and then a cheap set of shoes is around £60 :tongue:

Landslide

Rare Migrant
Do you want them purely for cycling in (in which case Looks or SPD-Rs would be a good option), or do you want to be able to walk in them without looking like a comedy lycra-clad duck (in which case a mountain bike system e.g. SPDs would be good)?

Radius

SHREDDER
I just went clipless recently, and I managed it for a total of £70. Shimano M076 shoes and M520 SPD pedals, from Wiggle and Merlin Cycles respectively. Double sided too. Definitely definitely worth it as well...

MajorMantra

I did it for just over £50 with LIDL shoes and M540s (a small step up from M520s). These are MTB style pedals though - you won't find a true road pedal/shoe combination for that little. I think the cheapest road shoe might be the dhb one here:

http://www.wiggle.co.uk/p/Cycle/7/dhb_R1_Road_Shoes/5360033177/

...Though some shops still have some of last year's lines at discounted prices, so it's worth looking around.