Handlebar height and steerer tube expansion bung

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Xenopus

I’m building up a track bike. I’m new to the track, and (at the age of 66) rather inflexible, so I want to experiment with handlebar height before I cut the steerer tube. This experimentation will involve clamping the stem on parts of the steerer tube that are not supported by the steerer tube expander bung. Is this safe, assuming that I don’t exceed the recommended torque of 5 Nm? As soon as I get the position right and the steerer tube cut I’ll set it up correctly, with stem and bung aligned.

in case it makes a difference, it’s a Condor Lavoro frame set.

Many thanks in advance. You can tell that I don’t have much experience in bike mechanics!

Sharky

Guru
The bung expander thingy is not there to support the stem clamping, so doesn't matter where it is relevant to the stem. The bung is to allow the stem to be pressed down to put tension on the headset bearings. Once the stem clamps have been tightened, the bung has no use and could be removed completely, but of course it should be kept in place for the next time you want to tighten the headset bearings.

It might be worth getting an adjustable stem to experiment more easily with different bar heights. Then get a stem with the required degree rise.

Herne Hill is a very large track so will be more like riding on the road. Haven't ridden at HH, but I did ride Bootle track once which was very similar.

Good luck

OP
OP
Xenopus

Xenopus

Thanks, Sharky. I should have mentioned that it's a carbon steerer tube, in case that makes any difference. I have seen others claim that the bung expander thingy is important both for pre-tensioning and for supporting the stem, but clearly the primary purpose is pre-tensioning and the support business may well be a bit post hoc. Anyway, I won't worry about it.

Good idea about the adjustable stem. I'm getting on a bit, and I'm not as flexible as I was!