Handlebars out of true

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

stevie_b

I've searched this site for my question but couldn't find an answer, so here goes...

I fell off my mountain bike this evening: nothing serious although I'm not sure how much I'll be able to move my knees tomorrow morning... :smile:

Anyway, my bike seems fine apart from 2 things:
1) the handlebars no longer align with the front fork: when the fork/wheel is facing dead ahead, the handlebars are in a "steering left by approx 20 degrees" position. How do I align them again? I'm a cycling newbie, but I believe I have a standard headset (not an Aheadset), and the forks are standard rigid ones, probably steel. Neither the fork nor wheel look buckled or bent, and the handlebars appear to be still attached to the stem correctly. Where the head tube meets the stem, there are 2 large nuts: do I need to undo one of these to get the stem and fork back into alignment?

2) One of the brake blocks on the front brakes no longer makes good contact with the rim: it meets the rim too far away from the tyre. It still technically works, but it pushes against the rim where the rim starts to taper off, but not quite extreme enough to get near the spokes. Having a quick look at the brakes, I couldn't see how to adjust them to get the pad to hit the rim further out. The brakes are cantilever Deore LX if that helps.

Any help/advice gratefully received!

Joe24

More serious cyclist than Bonj
It appears you have wrote your bike off
if i were you, i would now go and buy a decent bike and go on a bike maintence course.

Joe24

More serious cyclist than Bonj
Ill be nice though shall i?
To get the bars back in light, depending on the headset, if the stem is sort of like this then undo the top bolt, tap it then turn the bars to the correct angle, then re do up the top bolt.