Have you seen an improvement lately?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Brains

Legendary Member
I've been commuting on more or less the same route for 30 years (SE London to the City)
I think it has improved slightly, more traffic, more bikes, better drivers, better cyclists
I know a decade ago I used to go through a set of brake blocks every 500 miles with all the emergency stops, nowadays they last a lot longer, maybe the rubber is better, maybe I'm slower.

I dont know if it is just me but I have seen a real improvement in the standards of driving lately. I am getting less close passes and less people trying silly manouvres. Either driving is improving, or my tolerance is improving.
I am glad of it though as I can get on with my cycling and concentrate on my priorities more (Strava).

or have you learned to just enjoy the ride.......

OP
OP
Matthew_T

Matthew_T

"Young and Ex-whippet"
We all encounter idiotic, irresponsible and dangerous drivers and there are plenty of them. We all get wound up and probably, rightly so. Let's not lose sight of the fact that for every 1 moron you encounter whilst cycling, you will have encountered 30 or 40 (possibly more) decent right minded drivers. They (we) deserve a mention too
Thats why I upload regular 'Patient drivers' videos.

Jdratcliffe

I do get a lot more impatience from drivers when I'm riding into a headwind than on a normal day (and thus going a lot slower). It's the main reason I hate headwinds, really. Destroys my road confidence.
agree as its so hard and they ( car drivers) have no idea how much extra effort is needed with a headwind!

Davidsw8