Headset replacement

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

ayceejay

Guru
There are some funny goings on going on with my headset, I have checked and found a rough patch on
one of the bearing surfaces so I need to replace it.
1) how do I find out which headset I need
2) what would be a good quality set better than the obviously cheap unit I have but cheaper than Chris King
3) I have never done this before and will probably only do it the once so buying the right tools doesn't make sense
there is no LBS I trust so is it doable without the tools? Open to other suggestions too.

migrantwing

Veteran
Type 'headset finder' on Google. It should help.

accountantpete

Brexiteer
Headsets come in two broad types

a) Traditional - the bearing races are outside the head tube.

b) Modern - bearings inside the headtube
(I) Cup installed within headtube - semi-integrated headset.
or
(II) No cup - bearings rest on ledge within the head tube - integrated headset

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...
There are some funny goings on going on with my headset, I have checked and found a rough patch on
one of the bearing surfaces so I need to replace it.
1) how do I find out which headset I need
2) what would be a good quality set better than the obviously cheap unit I have but cheaper than Chris King
3) I have never done this before and will probably only do it the once so buying the right tools doesn't make sense
there is no LBS I trust so is it doable without the tools? Open to other suggestions too.
Hope.
http://www.hopetech.com/products/controls/headsets/

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...