Hello from Kendal

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

lavoisier

Winter is Coming!
Hi all,

I'm completely new to cycling only been out once on a road bike bought from a catalogue(I know, I could've got better elsewhere). I managed about 10 miles with a few stops and starts and had to call my daughter to pick me up about a mile from home, had absolutely nothing left. I probably bit off more than I could chew.

I have depression and anxiety problems and I think what I'm finding most off putting is the worry of having an accident. I realise cycling will probably help me with these issues but how bad is it out there really? I've just been reading a cycling magazine which had an article about a rider being killed and a letter about somebody who had two serious accidents.

I really enjoyed my day out on the bike yesterday but these nagging worries are taking the edge off my fun.

Sorry if this is a bit depressing but I just wondered if somebody with more experience could help at all.

Paul

Klis

Hey Paul,

I too suffer from anxiety, and used to struggle with going out, but not so much because I was afraid of an accident, more to do with the constant fear of people judging me lol.

I think in your case, however, you need to be a little more confident. I find that if you take the cycling on the road seriously (i.e. not weaving in and out of traffic with no hands and doing wheelies), then generally drivers respect that you are there and give you a wide birth.
I only scream like a little girl when a bus or HGV passes me and only provides a whisker of room - Fortunately I've never had a life threatening encounter with a motorized beast (touch wood)

No need to dress yourself up like a Christmas tree either – But be safe and take the necessary precautions.

Also, if you start feeling queasy/ faintish, then pull over onto the pavement/ grass and collapse there rather than in the road hehe :tongue:

Welcome to the forums :smile:

joggingbob