Hello from Staines

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Andy_G

Hi.
A little about me.
Ive just reached to ripe old age of 40 and im fiiter now than i was 20 yrs ago, maybe to do with the fact ive been riding daily for the last 6 months and lost 4 stone.
When i started riding i could just make it to work which is 3.4 miles and now i ride the long way around which is 10.5 miles but in that i stop off at my gym for an hour.
I currently own a Cannondale MTB which i never touch because im always on my £60 secondhand saracen which i love, i love road riding so much ive just sold my BMW which leaves me car less for the first time in 23 yrs, to devote my time to cycling and so i can buy a decent bike, which in March im buying a full carbon and i have about a £2.5-£3k budget.
A few weeks ago i came up with a silly idea of trying to ride 55 miles, but in my mind i thought id fail seeing that ive only ever done 15 miles a day and that was split before and after work, but to my surprise i made it and in not bad time (3h 15 mins) stopping once, and since then thats it im hooked and ive now booked a few 90-100 mile rides through evans and wiggle.
Well thats enough about me, im sure ill be asking loads of questions over a short amount of time.

thx for reading.

Andy

mark st1

Plastic Manc
:welcome: buddy nice to meet you. Im in the same boat as you just sold my car we are now a 1 car family lol. A few of us meet up most weekends in the Slough Windsor area for a casual ride out and coffee if you fancy it one weekend your more than welcome :thumbsup:

Congrats on the weight loss thats a brilliant amount to lose. And before you get bogged down with suggestions of how to spend your cash on a carbon bike specialized tarmac sl4 has to be on your list ;)

OP
OP
A

Andy_G

Hi Mark, i might just take you up on that ride.
The long ride i done was from Staines-Datchet-Windsor-Maidenhead-Reading-Wokingham-Bracknell-Ascot-Windsor-Staines.