Hello & route suggestions please

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi everyone, nice forum. I'm looking to start a tour from Valencia/Barcelona towards the Italian lakes via France starting in May, I've been riding both road and offroad for about 8 years now but I'm new to the whole touring thing. I wondered if any of you have suggestions for places to see or scenic rides along this (admittedly very vague) route. Thanks

Cathryn

Legendary Member
Sounds like an awesome trip - you'll love it.

The best advice I can give is to go to www.crazyguyonabike.com and check out the journals of other cyclists who have done chunks of that trip. These guys did my favourite journal which I find totally inspirational and they cover off all the places you went to:

http://www.crazyguyonabike.com/doc/?o=3Tzut&doc_id=878&v=1ux&term=mountains rivers&context=all

Less inspirationally, if you follow the link in my signature and check out our trip 'the sound of cycling' we did a stretch from Sete on the coast to Aix en Provence which might be useful. My biggest tip - the French Med coast is a bit grim, much less romantic than you think, so plan inland. Go for the hills.

jags

Guru
cathryn how grim are we talking here.im heading to france in june from roscoff down to near enough to la rochelle , then inland 60 or so miles back to roscoff.

andym

Über Member
jags said:
cathryn how grim are we talking here.im heading to france in june from roscoff down to near enough to la rochelle , then inland 60 or so miles back to roscoff.

Jags. I've just been researching a wee trip round the Brittany coast - thinking about late May. I don't think you can compare the Atlantic coast with the Mediterranean coast (or at least I hope you can't!) - which is pretty dull from what I've seen of it.

Cathryn

Legendary Member