Hello .... want to ride a new horse ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

kervelo

Hello,

Sorry to make such introduction : the topic opened here seem so apart from the other i've read before. So difficult to only start with " Hello and Welcome ".

My background is engineering, and cycling is a daily activity to go to work, for randonnee during holidays or even sometimes for racing if sundays are sunny !

Here, I'm interested in sharing my experience and receiving your advice and comments on a new bicycle type we have built : it can be considered as an "halfway" between an upright bicycle and a recumbent.
It is a front wheel direct drive bicycle using a gearbox in the front wheel with bottom bracket.
It is the first ever built and we are expecting to make the second better with your help !

P8220801.JPG

The riding is easy, safe and fast. As you can see : no chain. So the maintenance is very minimum and it will stay clean !
( more info and pictures can be shared )

Let me know your comments on it.
Thanks for feedback.

Marc

raleighnut

Legendary Member
:welcome: do you get traction problems on hills.

steveindenmark

Legendary Member
Show us some more photos Marc. I have seen something like this shape before, I will look in my magazines. Can you tell us something more about the hub?

OP
OP
kervelo

kervelo

Hello,

Thanks for feedback !

Regarding the traction and the capability to climb :
the position of the pedals axis is lower than the seat in addition to have a strong back rest : this gives more power transfer than a classical "recumbent " design.
There is a "limited" counter reaction at the handle bar when pushing but counter balanced by the pulling on pedals.
Over all, it feels great.
Regarding the hub : Yeah.... that is a piece of good mechanical engineering inspired by car gear box architecture ! It has 18 speeds and covering 600% gear ratio : so good for low speedd/climb and up "high" speed !