Help choosing a first bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Lailaps

Choosing a bike.I'm a compelte novice looking to become an experienced cycling amateur, i love watching it, i have friends that do it (both road and mountain biking although they all seem to prefer the mountain biking), and i'm feeling left out, first thing that would be useful is a bike, lol.
I like in road biking territory (warwickshire) but i think a mountain bike would be better for me as i'm a country bumpkin at heart and would enjoy going off road...however, i expect most of the time i'll be on road as i also need it to get to and from work on my bike, but i still think i'm maknig the right decision yes? Or no?

I don't want something terrible from argos or halfords. What are the brands/makes to look at?
I have about 300 to spend, is that figure too low for anything decent? Would i get something better second hand or an ex-test bike or something like that?
Do i NEED a womans specific, i really don't want something pink with butterfly motifs, very not me, however i am minuet, so would that restrict my search?

£300 will get you a perfectly good bike from companies like Giant, Trek, Specialized, Kona. You don't need a wimmin's specific bike but you may wan't to negotiate a wimmin's specific saddle swap to suit your wimmin's specific bum. I'd be inclined towards a rigid hardtail (ie no suspension) if it were my £300.

PS the company I work for has a few brand new 2007 Kona Smokes for sale in 14" and 16" frame sizes. PM me if you are interested.

shimano

Lailaps - take your time and read up on here and then visit as many bike shops as you can. Sit on the ones you like and sometimes, if you take photo ID (passport etc), a good shop will let you have a go. Don't buy the first one you see and (IMHO) sleep on your decision - your 'sit bones' will thank you in the long term...:smile::biggrin:

shimano said: