help. i need new tyres

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bubbles3

I need new tyres for my road bike but there seems very few on the market the same size as those that came on my GIANT SCR1. The current tyre size is 700 x 26 and are kenda kontender tyres. I've read a lot of bad reviews about these yet i've had absolutely no problems with them. Someone told me i could put 700 x 25 tyres onto my rims, can anyone give me more advice on this? I use my Giant SCR1 for winter/spring riding and with northern irelands wet weather i like the idea of having more rubber in contact with the road. Can anyone give a complete novice some advice, i don't mind buying an expensive puncture resistant tyre but i don't want to buy something that is no use for my rims.

potsy

Rambler
25's will be fine, you probably have a range of between 23-28 that would do, depending on your rim's internal width.
Plenty to choose from, my current ones have just been discontinued (Michelin Krylion) but others will advise more about their preference :thumbsup:
You may also be better giving us some idea of your budget, my previous tyres were Schwalbe Durano+, very good if expensive.

OP
OP
bubbles3

bubbles3

25's will be fine, you probably have a range of between 23-28 that would do, depending on your rim's internal width.
Plenty to choose from, my current ones have just been discontinued (Michelin Krylion) but others will advise more about their preference :thumbsup:
You may also be better giving us some idea of your budget, my previous tyres were Schwalbe Durano+, very good if expensive.
Thanks for the info, i have read about the michelin krylion tyres they seem to be very good. I'll pay up to £35 each tyre. Your info certainly means i have a lot more choice. Thank u :smile: