Help with me handlebars

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

bingbong

Hi .. I am a newbie so be gentle...
I have a Trek 7.1 bike, and am finding the bars a bit low, i was under the impression you cannot adjust them? Can anyone advise if i can get some form of extender for it or another solution ?
Thanks in advance Corrina

OP
OP
bingbong

bingbong

I have a Trek 7.1 bike, and am finding the bars a bit low, i was under the impression you cannot adjust them? Can anyone advise if i can get some form of extender for it or another solution ?

OP
OP
bingbong

bingbong

MacB

Lover of things that come in 3's
Before messing about with the bars I'd get your saddle height and setback(how far forward/back it is on the rails) correct first. Once that's done then work forward, so reach and height of the bars. you have options here:-

a new stem of different length and angle, a high rise one can raise the bars quite a bit. If this isn't enough then you can use an extender for the steerer tube, basically bolts on to existing and provides extra tube to attach your stem to. You can also experiment with different handlebars, bigger rise, multi hand positions etc.

MacB

Before messing about with the bars I'd get your saddle height and setback(how far forward/back it is on the rails) correct first. Once that's done then work forward, so reach and height of the bars. you have options here:-

a new stem of different length and angle, a high rise one can raise the bars quite a bit. If this isn't enough then you can use an extender for the steerer tube, basically bolts on to existing and provides extra tube to attach your stem to. You can also experiment with different handlebars, bigger rise, multi hand positions etc.

MacB

rh100

MacB, on behalf of the OP (it's Mrs RH :evil: ), thanks for the reply. (She doesn't log in much).

the saddle is adjusted so that her legs are just slightly bent with the pedal at it's lowest, i'm fairly happy with that setup.