Help with Ribble spec - pretty please :)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Sittingduck

Legendary Member
I have
Do you mean the Aksiums? The other Mavics are all out of my budget. I'm sure I've heard they're bombproof, but heavy. (I've also had a look on Ribble, and they only give them as an option in the bike builder if you're having a Campag groupset, and I'm sticking with Shimano for my triple.)

I have Aksiums on my 'Good' road bike. I wouldn't say they are particularly bombproof (AFAIK they have just 20 spokes on each wheel). They are pretty light though and so far I am quite impressed by them. You can definitely get them with Shimano splined freehub (I am running SRAM Rival).

http://www.mavic.com/en/product/wheels/road-triathlon/wheels/Aksium

I'm sorry I can't recommend the Fulcrum's as I have no experience of them. I am sure the roads you have in Spain are no worse than many here in the UK. Wheels are stronger than you think I'm 191cm and 82kg and I haven't buckled a wheel since I was a teenager [a few years ago :whistle: ] , their weakness is if they take a knock from the side, this is particularly true of wheels with a very low spoke count. FWIW my advice is to spend as much as you can afford. If you are unsure Google any reviews you can find but I wouldn't be looking at any wheelset that weighs more than 1800g. It's a bit pointless sticking heavy wheels on a light frame.

e-rider

crappy member
Thanks, derrick, I've already been in touch with them by email about a few things, but I'm interested in getting opinions and thoughts from other cyclists here.

Did they actually reply to your email? If so, that's a first! You do realise that Ribble have a dark and dirty past when it comes to customer service?

OP
OP
lulubel

lulubel

Über Member
Did they actually reply to your email? If so, that's a first! You do realise that Ribble have a dark and dirty past when it comes to customer service?