Help With The Right Clothing For Autumn / Winter

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Chubby Arse

Hi All,

I'm new to commuting on my bike and I'm struggling to figure out what I need for the Autumn and Winter.

During the summer I wore a cotton t-shirt and my Endura Hi-Vis jacket and this was fine as I'd wear the t-shirt for one day and then wash it. However, with the colder weather I'm wearing two t-shirts to just take the edge of the cold. This is all well and good, but the shirts get pretty wet from sweat and again - I have to wash them every day - so I'm up to two t-shirts a day! I've read that cotton isn't the best material for cycling so I think I need some new gear.

So, I obviously need something that I can wear a few times (I generally cycle 2-3 times a week). I've looked at some jerseys (wicking) that deal with sweat better. However, I'm not the only person I guess in this predicament so I'd be grateful for some experts to lend me their experience and give me some recommendations.

Also would like some recommendations on what to wear on the bottom half too. I'm a tubby-ish lad and I'd look a bit daft in the serious gear (tight), so anything that is a bit more forgiving would be good!

Sorry for being so vague, I've tried figuring out what to get myself but there is so much out there!

Thanks everyone

rusky

CC Addict
Hi & Welcome to the forum :hello:

When I was commuting 5 miles each way in the depths of winter, I found that a Merino woll t-shirt & a jumper along with a waterproof coat.

How far is you commute?

At this time of year I would just wear a merino t-shirt & a jacket.

You may find that neoprene overshoes will be needed to keep your toes toasty during winter :thumbsup:

Scilly Suffolk

Über Member
Chubby Arse? Made me smile!