Hey there. I need to pick some brains

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Nutrigainskitchen

Hey guys.
I'm looking at doing a charity ride from stockport Manchester to Amsterdam in April so would love any info possible.

Literally every bit.lol.
I'm new to this so would like to know about what bike would be best, best place to download maps, thoughts on if I should camp / couch surf / stay in digs etc, equipment/ gear I should take.

Any info would be appreciated

And finally the small fact that I need to do it on a tight budget

No pressure

Thanx in advance
Ash.

Cycleops

Legendary Member
So let's start off with the bike. What budget do you have available for this? Second hand is obviously going to be cheapest but do you have someone who can check it out for you?
Equipment will depend on how you want to do the trip. Again what money is available for this?
Maps and routes can be sourced and followed on your phone. I'm sure others will have some suggestions here. Any time frame? How far do you think you can cycle in a day? Are you reasonably fit?

Last edited:

Cycleops

Legendary Member
IMO this would fit the bill, subject to being your size. A mountain bike. Found in Stockport Gumtree asking £100. Already has road tyres on it. No front suspension which only adds weight, plenty of gears. Need to be checked out of course.

Screenshot_20190913-185220.png

Last edited:

vickster

Legendary Member
IMO this would fit the bill, subject to being your size. A mountain bike. Found in Stockport Gumtree asking £100. Already has road tyres on it. No front suspension which only adds weight, plenty of gears. Need to be checked out of course.

View attachment 484977
Women’s subway model?
Not that it really matters If the bike is the right size but is the op Ashley or Ashleigh...some men might get hung up on riding a ‘women’s bike’ for some reason

Last edited:

SkipdiverJohn

Deplorable Brexiteer

View attachment 484977